Still alive.

December 14, 2007

Well, I’ve been getting less and less hits lately, and I figured that before people stopped visiting altogether I’d let you all know that I’m still alive and kicking. We’ve got a little over a week left in training and so much information has been pouring in on us at once, we’re basically on our own now, with coaches there to help if it gets too deep for us, so it’s taking all that we’ve learned and slamming it into true to life situations. It’s been an experience! Exciting, dull, nerve-wracking, fun, just a little of everything, and you never really know what to expect next.

For those of you who haven’t visited my about me page, I’m a customer service representative for DISH Network, your leader in HD and DVR services… hey, that’s what they pay me to say. 😉

These past two days I’ve done everything from bust 2 people on credit card fraud, set people up for promotions, connect new customers, cancel services for existing customers, and tonight was especially interesting… I felt like I actually helped someone. This guy had called in wondering why he’s seeing a message on his screen that his services would soon be disconnected and he was wondering why, so I looked it over, the guy had missed his last 2 payments… well, in actuality, his now ex-wife was refusing to continue to pay the bill, and when he tried to pay with the credit card it looked like she had that zapped, too. I felt terrible for the guy, and I empathized with him and worked with him a bit, took his zip code and did a little research and informed him that for $4.95 extra, the Walgreens right up the street would send his payment to us. The guy was thrilled, thanked me profusely, by name no less, and it made me feel like a million bucks. Totally made up for the hour and 9 minutes I had yesterday of dealing with a customer who just couldn’t understand we charged an additional $5 a month for a receiver that he swore up and down he never had… don’t get me started on that guy.

All in all, I enjoy my job. I’ve made some friends, I’ve learned a little patience, I’ve helped people out and get to speak with hundreds of different personalities daily, and not all of them are pleasant, but you win some and you lose some. They pay you well enough and definitely give you enough benefits to grin and bear with the pesky customers, and it’s rewarding in and of itself when your customer shows their satisfaction with you and your company. I kinda like being the voice and representative of Dish Network.

Thankfully, in a couple more weeks I start my new shift, and I’ll have the presence of mind to spend a little more time blogging.

3 Responses to “Still alive.”

  1. Anna Says:

    blessed nativity, blake!

  2. donva Says:

    I hope you had a blessed Nativity, Blake, and wish you a very Happy New Year.

    In Christ,

    Don

  3. Joseph Patterson Says:

    Blake,
    Are you still alive?

    Joseph


Leave a Reply

