What’s new?

December 3, 2007

I’m a little disappointed in myself. With job training and all, my days and nights have been getting all mixed up — I work 3 to 12, I come home and I stay up half the night, wake up late in the day, eat, shower, and get ready for another day. Waking up early is about unheard of. So I’ve missed Church for 3 weeks now, only reason being, I’m lazy.

I’d say I miss it, but if I really did I’d be getting up and going. I’m really hoping I can get day shift, I’m applying for it this week, so well wishes and prayers would mean a lot to me! I’d get a lot more straightened out and it would make my life much more manageable, believe me. My job pays great and I enjoy it 90% of the time, so that part isn’t bad, but I sure don’t appreciate spending all my day there. I’m just a day shift kind of person, I like to wake up, go to work, come home and have my day to myself. I need that to feel like I have some kind of life going on outside of work.

Anyway, enough complaining. The positives are, for now, I get every Sunday and Monday off, so I will get to participate in Divine Liturgy. It’s good pay. GREAT benefits, including profit sharing, 401k, medical dental vision and all that, discounts from Sprint, Dell, Ford Motors, and a slew of other places, tuition reimbursement, etc… and plus it’s just a big step forward in life. It’s more of a career than a day job, and it could pave the way for the future.

Speaking of future, I’ve got it in my mind to go and visit Holy Cross Hermitage as soon as I can. You can watch the trailer there, which basically sold me. I need that kind of experience and I can’t wait to have it. Reading books like Mountain of Silence and Gifts of the Desert is all good and well, but to have a talk with, get counsel and receive the blessing of true to life men who have died to the world and become more alive in Christ than I could hope to be, that would be a true blessing. A good book by a wise man is worth more than gold, and a conversation with a wise man is worth more than a book.

This Friday I’m going to see about a car, then I’ll be making some arrangements… maybe I’ll drop by and see my good friend Don too.

One Response to “What’s new?”

  1. donva Says:

    Your friend Don would be honored to have you visit.

    I’m very happy for you, Blake. I mean, really, really happy. You are doing an outstanding job of overcoming one obstacle at a time, and your efforts are beginning to bear fruit. Glory to God!

    Congratulations on this huge step forward you’ve taken. Please let me know if I can help you in any way.


Leave a Reply

