Metropolitan’s blessing to launch Orthodox blogs.

November 16, 2007

Metropolitan Kirill welcomes proposal to launch Orthodox blogs

Moscow, October 30, Interfax – Metropolitan Kirill of Smolensk and Kaliningrad welcomes the Orthodox public’s call on the clergy to be more active as missionaries on the Internet, including in the LiveJournal.

“Every opportunity should be used to preach the Word of God, including the Internet and the LiveJournal as a genre. I am sure priests will offer to conduct this testimony at a high level,” Metropolitan Kirill, who heads the Moscow Patriarchate Department for External Church Relations, said in an interview with Interfax on Tuesday.

Earlier on Tuesday, Kirill Frolov, the head of the Moscow Department of the Union of Orthodox Citizens, said in an interview with Interfax that, “not only parishioners, but also church hierarchs could make use of the blog space fo the sake of Orthodox missionary revival.” “If Metropolitan Kirill launched a LiveJournal of his own, an Orthodox breakthrough would occur in the blog space,” he said.

“I myself think this would be a very useful and important endeavor,” Metropolitan Kirill said. “But I will not be able to join it because I am too busy. The most I can do is to answer the questions sent to me as the host of the Pastor’s Word television program,” he said.

There seemed to be a little leaning towards Livejournal, but, hey, if I’m going to be an e-missionary I’d much rather be here on WordPress. Call me biased.

Here are a couple shameless links to my favorite missionary efforts: St. Herman Brotherhood, and Death to the World.

Leave a Reply

